The Big Easy

This was my third and best trip to New Orleans, Louisiana. I had a wonderful time interviewing thirteen participants and spending time with my coworker. I am now checking in at my hotel, getting ready to go to bed REALLY SOON even though it’s only 7:47pm. That’s what happens when you go, go, go for four days straight.

So below are some of the shots that I have taken while being here. As is consistent with the purpose of this blog, the shots are mostly of food I ate (or am eating right now) and places I visited while here. I really wanted to have had the chance to take pictures of the house that are still boarded up so many years post-Katrina, but it didn’t happen. Maybe next time!

So I wanted to try as much as I could to eat exclusively from local cuisines. With that in mind, I only had a meal from a chain once, which was IHOP this morning on my way to a participant’s house. This only happened because there was absolutely nothing but chains on my way there, and I was short on time. Anyway, enjoy 🙂

Image

So I didn’t actually buy this or try any, but Chocolate covered chips is such a bizarre concept that I felt compelled to take a picture!

These were at a fresh food market on St. Charles Ave

Image

Also from the same fresh food market. Lol. Good thing I didn’t eat any red meat on this trip or I would have thought of this little face.

So our first full day in Nola, my coworker and I went for lunch at this place called Superior Grill. This dish was the Fresh fish of the day (Tilapia). So yummy.

Image

Oh and I ordered a virgin Piña Colada because it was 2pm and I wanted something really cold (my arm looks strangely gigantic in this picture, haha oops)

Image

This is just here because what? How do you get Monica from Ana? Anyway, this coffee was from CC’s Community Coffeehouse, where I ended up spending a good chunk of my time. Nice place with sidewalk seating and classical music playing inside. Right up my alley.

Image

Here’s what a part of the sidewalk seating at CC’s looked like:

Image

Later on Thursday, my coworker and I went to dinner at this spot called Delachaise. Here’s what it looked like:

Image

We had a thing for outdoor seating on this trip as you will notice – probably because we’re so sick and tired of cold weather, and it was wonderful and warm on Thursday and Friday here. Anyway, we both ordered the Grilled Cheese special that looked like this:

Image

Definitely delicious.

So on Friday, we each did our thing because we had interviews in different parts of the city. So when I had some off time from interviewing, I went to Mojo Coffeehouse on Freret Street. This is the beautiful and delicious Hazelnut soy latte I got from there:

Image

After I had my wonderful coffee and worked for a few hours, I grabbed a Shrimp Poboy from across the street at this local place called Freret Street Poboys & Donuts. As you can see, the meal was not the beautiful presentation ever, but who cares? It was delicious:

Image

After many, many more hours of work, my coworker and I took the trolley down to the French Quarter for dinner and explorations.

Here’s the trolley we took on St. Charles St:

Image

Once we hit Canal Street, we decided to walk down Bourbon Street for funsies. Here is some of what we encountered:Image

Dude 1 hauling dude 2 and his piano around on wheels. Bananas. But dude 2 playing the piano yielded my favorite picture from this trip, which I will include at the end for the sake of providing you with an exciting journey through my post 😉

Image

Street performer; she held this pose for solong.

So after much walking and deliberating, my coworker and I finally settled on having dinner at Cafe Amélie, which (surprise, surprise) had outdoor seating. It looked like this from the street:

Image

And from our table:Image

Cool, right?

So my coworker and I ordered this delicious starter with goat cheese:

Image

For our entrees, I had the grilled salmon with potato wedges and asparagus, and she had the pasta for veggieheads (a.k.a. vegetarians):

Image

Image

After this beautiful meal, we decided to walk more to make room for what came next… but first, on the way to our next spot, we saw this curious human being:

Image

And these disgusting cats lounging around like idiots (sorry, I really dislike cats):

Image

And finally, we reached our destination:

Image

I’m pretty sure that it is a sin to go to New Orleans and not go to Cafe du Monde for beignettes:Image 

Image

YUM! So after we ate all this food and felt like we were dying, we decided to walk more, except this time towards our hotel. On the way there, we saw this beautiful park area that I still don’t know what it’s called, but it looked like this:

Image

Not coincidentally, the further we got from the French Quarter, the more that we came  into areas that looked like this:

Image

And this was my final shot from Friday night:

Image

Lastly, tonight (Saturday) for dinner, I had a local favorite, crawfish! More specifically, this was pasta with crawfish sauce. It was as delicious as you would imagine it to be. Again, not the most beautiful presentation but NO ONE CARES:

Image

And as a closer, I introduce my second favorite shot of the night, taken by my lovely coworker on Bourbon Street (disclaimer: Instagram filter added):

Image

And finally, my favorite shot of the trip, and perhaps the best shot I have ever taken:

Image

Thanks for reading, everybody! Stay posted for more adventures in the future! 🙂

Leave a Reply

