Best Coast?

This week, I spent four days traveling to San Francisco, admittedly my first time west of Illinois (wadup, Chicago). Let me just say now that this trip was AMAZING. I spent half the time at the Jean Piaget Annual Society Meeting, and the other half wandering around San Francisco. Here’s what I uncovered during the MANY miles I walked (my legs are still jelly; disclaimer: some of the photos are better than others. Bear with me. I’m still learning :)) 

1. San Francisco has some funky, super interesting architecture and artwork spread all throughout the cityImage

 

 

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

 

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

 

2. Once you get to the Pier, it’s breathtaking but you have to be ready for the swarms of tourists.Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

 

(Did they make this area for me?)

Below is the Fishermen’s & Seamen’s Memorial Chapel, hidden in a corner of the pier where there were no other tourists.Image

 

Image

Image

 

 

3. At the end of Fisherman’s Wharf, if you can make it through all the tourist shops and restaurants, there’s an amazing beach, and contrary to what the locals will tell you, the bay water is not the most freezing water ever. Come on, guys, have you been to Massachusetts? I was told multiple times that I would freeze walking outside. It was 60 degrees -_- Image

Image

 

4. You can walk literally anywhere in this city. I walked to the Golden Gate Bridge in less than two hours, and it was a beautiful, scenic, and peaceful walk. Also, as you will see, it was pretty foggy when I got to the bridge, but (and apparently as is typical for SF weather) it got sunny while I was there. I spent a good amount of time watching the fishermen all over the lookout point. Image

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

 

 

5. As you walk out of the Golden Gate “viewing area,” you see a curious golden dome to your right and naturally wonder what it is. If you venture over there, you see the Palace of Fine Arts, this gorgeous structure with a wide pond where you see tons of old people sitting around on benches.

Image 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

7. If you’re like me and didn’t get enough of the pier on your first night, you can go back to Fisherman’s Wharf and go on boat cruise under the Golden Gate bridge and Alcatraz for a mere $15. You will make friends during that hour-long trip, you will fear for your life as the little boat crashes against the large waves, you will get soaked, but it will be worth every minute. Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

8. As you may know, I’m a huge foodie, but I didn’t get much of a chance to explore SF’s culinary prowess. I did, however, have a bread bowl of the famous Clam Chowder. It was AMAZING. I also had a Ghirardelli hot fudge Sundae in Ghirardelli Square but it didn’t last long enough for me to take a picture 😀

Image

The biggest takeaway from this trip for me was that you should never be afraid to do anything because your friends can’t come with you. There will inevitably be others at your destination who are also alone and who will be super friendly. The locals might also be nice if you give them a chance! 🙂 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

